//
you're reading...
Hello!, Home, Leadership & Management, Welcome

Why Ask Why?

I have recently come across a good book by Simon Sinek titled Start with Why which maps out some of what sets successful leaders and companies from the mediocre.

In his book, Simon attests to the fact that most of us know what we do and most know how to do what we do but lose focus on why we do what we do. He additionally links consumer and worker behaviour to be most strongly influnced by the ‘Why?‘ question. This question is the basis of our beliefs and feelings: our loyalty, our trust etc.

Ever give someone all the facts and figures to help them decide only for them to say ‘It just doesn’t feel right’ ? There is that word again: feelings. Contrary to popular belief, we are not as rational as we like to think we are. Feelings are extremely influential in what we do and how we do it. Therefore as Simon says, ‘People don’t buy into what you do they buy into why you do it.’ The early adopters of your idea want a link between their beliefs and feelings and what you want to achieve. How do you make this link? Tell them why you want to achieve it. Explain why it is a big deal. Not just for you but more importantly for them too.

So how do you use this for success? Successful leadership requires getting things done through others. How do you motivate others to buy into your idea and product? Ask the why question.

About Sarah

I am a mental health nurse with 10 years experience working with people with a lived experience and their carers. I have very little interest in focusing on what is wrong with people and prefer to focus on people's aspirations and what is right with them. I care about equality and the small things that remind us of the bigger picture. I love art, music, novel ideas, psychology, science and the way in which these various entities intersect. I am blogging in an entirely personal capacity. My views do not reflect my employer's.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Me

I am a mental health nurse turned manager who enjoys live music and gadgets. I have recently taken up photography as a way to keep sane whilst I am studying for my Msc in Health Care Management.

I am very passionate about my work which I find rewarding and enlightening. I am blogging in an entirely personal capacity. My views do not reflect those of my employer.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

