//
you're reading...
Big World

Capturing The Moment

For most of us, life is fast paced. We move fast, our children grow quick and our circumstances change quickly. The recent international events in New Zealand and Japan have given me cause to pause, take stock and recalculate.

These events have left a trail of suffering and incited a need for unity to help those affected. They have also brought a perspective on the rest of the worlds events…I hope. I say that ‘I hope’ because it seems that people (including yours faithful) reflect for a minute on how their problems are ‘not really that bad’ before getting back into a catastrophising mode. I wont go into any examples here because reducing someone’s subjective problem is the very thing I would like to challenge. But I would encourage us all to take a moment to pause and consider our lives in relation to those affected by recent events in Egypt, Libya, New Zealand and Japan. Just take a moment.

About Sarah

I am a mental health nurse with 10 years experience working with people with a lived experience and their carers. I have very little interest in focusing on what is wrong with people and prefer to focus on people's aspirations and what is right with them. I care about equality and the small things that remind us of the bigger picture. I love art, music, novel ideas, psychology, science and the way in which these various entities intersect. I am blogging in an entirely personal capacity. My views do not reflect my employer's.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Me

I am a mental health nurse turned manager who enjoys live music and gadgets. I have recently taken up photography as a way to keep sane whilst I am studying for my Msc in Health Care Management.

I am very passionate about my work which I find rewarding and enlightening. I am blogging in an entirely personal capacity. My views do not reflect those of my employer.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

