//
you're reading...
Leadership & Management

Be Awesome. Become a Mental Health Nurse.

So here is the thing that never ceases to amaze me: the people who ask me what I do always have a different reaction when I tell them I am a mental health nurse. After 8 years of being a mental health nurse, I thought I had seen all the reactions – but a couple of weeks ago whilst shopping in a local supermarket, small talk with a fellow shopper turned to the question about professions. I was surprised when the fellow shopper insisted on shaking my hand and proceeded to thank me. He explained that his daughter had been very ill for a period (now better) and praised the mental health nurses who helped her overcome the difficult period. I encouraged him to write to the service to tell them about what he valued of the nurses’ input as I couldn’t very well take the praise of these clearly hard working mental health nurses. I do remember walking out of that store with an extra spring in my step and thinking about the low profile of mental health nursing in comparison to other professions.

Incidentally, when I was asked to give a talk about mental health nursing at the Royal College of Nursing (RCN) jobs fair a week later, I immediately said ‘Yes!’. But ofcourse I then realised I had to think and plan what it is I am going to say about mental health nursing. I decided on a theme of why and what makes mental health nursing awesome. I took my own experiences of being a mental health nursing manager and put it down in a visual presentation below:

So, there you have it: my 2 pence on why I think its awesome to be a mental health nurse.

About Sarah

I am a mental health nurse with 10 years experience working with people with a lived experience and their carers. I have very little interest in focusing on what is wrong with people and prefer to focus on people's aspirations and what is right with them. I care about equality and the small things that remind us of the bigger picture. I love art, music, novel ideas, psychology, science and the way in which these various entities intersect. I am blogging in an entirely personal capacity. My views do not reflect my employer's.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Be Awesome. Become a Mental Health Nurse.

  1. Great Article, I am thinking of becoming a mental health, well actually, I am in the process already – and articles like this help make me more confident in my decision. Chapeau!

    Aidan M
    https://twitter.com/AidanMouellic

    Posted by Aidan M | November 10, 2012, 11:23 pm
  2. I’m a student nurse in Mental Health in the North East of England – just wanted to say thank you for making this, really powerful stuff – we are so lucky to have the opportunity to contribute positively to peoples lives. I love your outlook on building on positivity and resilience – thanks for sharing 🙂

    Posted by Rachey | July 24, 2014, 11:58 am

Leave a Reply

Me

I am a mental health nurse turned manager who enjoys live music and gadgets. I have recently taken up photography as a way to keep sane whilst I am studying for my Msc in Health Care Management.

I am very passionate about my work which I find rewarding and enlightening. I am blogging in an entirely personal capacity. My views do not reflect those of my employer.

My Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

