The Role of the Clinician in Digital Healthcare

As a self professed geek, I have to say that I am pleased to see so much interest in technology’s role in healthcare a.k.a e-health. One of the things that I like about the current direction of travel is the increasing involvement of clinicians in informing and driving e-health.

I am also aware that others are not so keen on the increasing use of technology in healthcare, for various reasons. Instead of widening the gap between those of us who do and those who do not believe that technology will revolutionise healthcare, I have made a personal and professional choice to share my experiences of driving efficiency and service improvement using technology. I am doing this in the hope that it will open up channels for more dialogue and debate to explore the drivers and barriers to wider adoption at scale.

Having just recovered from the E-Mental Health Conference that I helped to host last month, the coming months are going to be very interesting as I present the ‘My Journey’ Youth Mental Health App and hear others’ experiences of using technology in healthcare. I am going to be listening and speaking at the following events:

  1. HC2013 National Health IT Conference on 17th April where I will be speaking about the evidence for mobile health at the ICC Birmingham;
  2. Royal Society of Medicine Using Apps to Transform Healthcare on 18th April;
  3. Live Information Exchange Webinar with Vancouver Island Health Authority on 23rd April (Password: Youth);
  4. The Nursing Stream of the Chief Clinical Information Officer  Campaign in London on 13th June;
  5. Medicine 2.0: Social Media, Mobile Apps and Web 2.0 in Medicine, Health and Biomedical Research  taking place in London on September 23-24;
  6. International Youth Mental Health Conference which will look at how young people are influencing services and the role of technology in youth mental health;

I hope I get to see some of you at the above events or engage with you via my Twitter handle: @S_Amani.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Peter Ilves says:

    Dear Sarah
    Hope you are well.
    You are doing some amazing work.

    Looking forward to meet in the future.

    Good on you.

    Dr Peter Ilves
    GP
    http://Www.bigwhitewall.com
    London IAPT GP advisor

    1. Sarah says:

      Thanks Peter, that’s very kind & likewise really love the work you guys are doing at Big White Wall. Hopefully catch up with you soon.

Leave a Reply

